TECHNOLOGY

PANSPress UI
3 min readSep 26, 2021

BY OLOWU DAVID

PANS PRESS meets Mr Bashirudeen Opeyemi , also known as “BASH” . He is a data scientist and a winner of AI for Energy Hackaton.

PANS PRESS: Can we meet you

BASH: My name is Bashirudeen Opeyemi Ibrahim. I am a 400 level pharmacy student, music lover and data scientist

PANS PRESS: What do you love doing in your free time?

BASH: Listening to music, going out on my own

PANS PRESS: Do you have any side hustle?

BASH: Well, I would not call what I do (data science) a side hustle. I do not have time to be taking jobs yet due to pharmacy school

PANS PRESS: How did you get introduced to the tech world?

BASH: I just found myself doing tech. There were some guys who wrote codes and do tdb (till day breaks) with us when I was in 200L. I think I got my motivation from them to also learn python and start writing codes also

PANS PRESS: What interests you about Data science?

BASH: It’s world job sexiest job of the 21st century. The ability to be able to make accurate decisions based on available data and also build models. The world today is driven by data which is no longer news actually. Data science with the use of ML makes drug discovery and production plus disease diagnosis effortless.

PANS PRESS: Who do you look up to in the tech world?

BASH: Well, Adebayo Alonge CEO of RXall, Wurola Oyewusi Research lead at Data science Nigeria . These guys are also pharmacists making a difference

PANS PRESS: Has pharmacy school hindered your progress in any way?

BASH: A lot. But I mean I started pharmacy school first before data science so for now

It’s really the priority

PANS PRESS: So how do you get to manage your time learning your skill and also try to do well in school?

BASH: I make good use of my breaks and YouTube. I can binge watch what I need to learn in no time

PANS PRESS: What is your motivation on days things are not going well ?

BASH: Thoughts of the future and how things will eventually get back (trust me, they eventually do)

PANS PRESS: Your team participated in a competition (AI FOR ENERGY HACKATHON) as regards data science recently and won, can you share your experience?

BASH: Wonderful experience I tell you. Working with people that weren’t from our faculty because we hardly have time to network much with people from other departments and faculties, it was just great

Although preparing for the Hackathon was quite tasking for me due to classes, practical classes, externship etc. But thank God for technology, we held all of our meetings online

PANS PRESS: So, what does the future hold. Pharmacy or data science?

BASH: Pharmacoinformatics. Which is more like a combination of both field

PANS PRESS: What is your advice for any pharmacy student trying to also get into the tech world

BASH: Funny how we already have pharmacy students already into tech in our faculty already

But my advice for anyone is “pharmacy today is now more than just dispensing and compounding, you have to do something that will make you stand out …. do tech”

PANS PRESS: Thank you very much for having us, wish you the best

BASH: You’re welcome

--

--

PANSPress UI

Pharmaceutical Association of Nigeria, University of Ibadan Press